EAS Required Monthly Test Schedule

Here are the dates and times of the EAS Required Monthly Tests (RMT). As a reminder, the EAS State Plan states that the RMT must be transmitted during the third full week of the month. The FCC’s Part 11 Rules state that during odd-numbered months, the RMT will be scheduled between 8:30 a.m. and local sunset; during even-numbered months, the RMT will be scheduled between local sunset and 8:30 a.m.

Tests will occur 5 minutes before the hour or half-hour. Remember, you have 60 minutes* in which to rebroadcast the test. If you are off the air at the time of the test, you must transmit the RMT upon resuming operation. If the RMT has been erased from your encoder through the receipt of another alert, you must transmit a Required Weekly Test (RWT) instead.

The date of the 2019 EAS National Test has not yet been set.  When the date is announced, the schedule below will be revised.  Under FCC rules (47 CFR 11.61), “(ii) A national test shall replace the required weekly and monthly tests for all EAS Participants, as set forth in paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this section, in the week and month in which it occurs.”

December 13, 2018 (Thursday)
15:55 pm
Source: MDPS

January 22, 2019 (Tuesday)
11:25 am
Source: MPBN

February 20, 2019 (Wednesday)
23:55 pm
Source: NWS Caribou

March 21, 2019 (Thursday)
13:55 pm
Source: MEMA

April 24, 2019 (Wednesday)
6:55 am
Source: MDPS

May 21, 2019 (Tuesday)
9:55 am
Source: MPBN

June 20, 2019 (Thursday)
10:55 am
Source: NWS Caribou

July 24, 2019 (Wednesday)
14:25 pm
Source: MEMA

August 20, 2019 (Tuesday)
23:55 pm
Source: MDPS

September 19, 2019 (Thursday)
9:25 am
Source: MPBN

October 23, 2019 (Wednesday)
4:55 am
Source: NWS Caribou

November 19, 2019 (Tuesday)
10:55 am
Source: MEMA

December 19, 2019 (Thursday)
16:55 pm
Source: MDPS

Source Key:
MEMA = Maine Emergency Management Agency
MDPS = Maine Dept. of Public Safety
NWS = National Weather Service
MPBN = Maine Public Broadcasting Network

*The FCC’s EAS Report & Order which took effect 5/16/02 extended the time for rebroadcasting an RMT from 15 minutes to 60 minutes.